Just another newbie with some questions

Fordman75

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey, I just recently bought my first diesel powered truck. I've been working on my own cars/trucks for the past 20 years. So I know my way around a gasser. But when it comes to diesels I'm just newbie.

I was told about this sight by M.L.S.C. the day after I bought my truck.:oops: I wish I would have known about this sight before I bought the truck!!

The truck I bought is a 1991 Ford F-Super Duty with a 7.3L, 5spd with E-brake, Disc brake rear diff with 5.13 gears, hydro-boost brake booster and a 14 foot flatbed. The odometer says just over 26,000. I'm not sure if that's 126 or 226,000.

It's not real pretty but I'm hoping once I get it fixed up mechanically it will be a good tow rig. Here's some pics of it.

You must be registered for see images attach

When I drove the truck home I noticed the engine got quite a bit louder when I revved it over 2500 rpms while going thru the gears. I was just wondering if this was normal? And if not any ideas what might be causing it? A guy my dad knows says it's probably weak springs in the injectors? :dunno I was wondering if it might be a timing issue? Or is it possibly the DMF?

I'm going to be parking this truck for the winter. I was wondering what if anything should be done to the truck before I park it. Does a diesel truck need anything special done to it for long term storage? Should I dump in any kind of fuel additive? I plan to disconnect the batteries.

Thanks in advance! I'm going to keep reading and learn everything I can from all the diesel masters here!:hail

LCAM-01XA

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey man, glad to see you made it over here! :D