1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Injection pump timing

Discussion in '6.9L IH & 7.3L IDI Diesels' started by John Scott, Feb 21, 2021.

  1. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    5,885
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    Yes it will. Homelessduck uses it.
     
    92 dizzel and homelessduck like this.
  2. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    5,885
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    I'm thinking about getting one myself. What type of timing light do you use with it? That's the same type that we used to use in the shop I used to work at. I have no idea what timing light it was. The light and meter were both there before I started there.
     
  3. CharlesG

    CharlesG Registered User

    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    You don't need to use a timing light with the DTI setup. It does have a trigger for a timing light if you want to use one.
     
    homelessduck likes this.
  4. homelessduck

    homelessduck Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    274
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    OR
    My mag probe hole is wobbly on my 6.9 so I just used a cheap timing light I got for free. Any timing light will work.
     
  5. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    5,885
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    Doesn't it have to plug in to the meter in the spot labeled "timing light"? That's where ours hooked up.
     
  6. CharlesG

    CharlesG Registered User

    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    Not on this model. From the instructions; C0D72AED-C095-4612-A923-F2EC6D3B7BCC.jpeg
    8E0AFC27-514E-4E11-8A5A-F276436D1CE4.jpeg
     
    IDIBRONCO, homelessduck and Scotty4 like this.
  7. homelessduck

    homelessduck Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    274
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    OR
    On this meter you can clamp any basic timing light around that metal bar on the back of the meter in the picture above. It's a very versatile meter :) .
     
    IDIBRONCO likes this.
  8. gandalf

    gandalf Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,625
    Likes Received:
    808
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    I used that same meter to time my truck a week or so ago. I found it quite good.

    The transducer is marked 6.35. That's 6.35mm. It translates to 1/4 inch, which is what our trucks have for injector lines. At first I thought it was too small, but it worked perfectly.

    The only problem I had was that the tachometer on the meter did not agree with the tach on the truck. There was about 150 rpm difference between the two. I had the meter sitting on the hood so I could see both tachs. There was a difference.
     
    ttman4 and IDIBRONCO like this.
  9. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    5,885
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    Maybe our timing light did hook up the same way. I really don't remember right now. Anyway, timing light hook up aside, I did just pull the trigger on one. Now I'll just have to buy a timing light. It's about time. I've needed one for years. The last time that I asked the closest diesel shop (to me) about setting the timing, it was going to be $80 and that was 5 or 6 years ago. It could be $100 now. At those rates, it won't take many times to pay for this meter and a light. That's not counting the costs of fuel and time to drive there. By the way, I'm also not real impressed by them and I've had a couple of other people tell me the same thing.
     
  10. homelessduck

    homelessduck Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    274
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    OR
    You don't need a timing light if your timing tube on your engine is solid. The meter comes with the mag probe. I just have to use a light because my timing tube is wonky and moves around.
     
  11. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    5,885
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    I've always used a light and I prefer that method. I may experiment with the mag probe, but then again, maybe not. At this point, I don't know the condition of the timing tube on my engine. I've seen them loose like yours, I've also seen the entire bracket missing. I know, if the bracket's missing, then you can't time one of our engines without the luminosity probe.
     
    homelessduck likes this.
  12. John Scott

    John Scott Full Access Member

    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Location:
    Virginia
    I got it on ebay... u r welcome to it when I am done with it if u want
     
    92 dizzel likes this.
  13. 92 dizzel

    92 dizzel Registered User

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    Arizona
    How much???

    I'm so sick of not knowing where my timing is
     
  14. renjaminfrankln

    renjaminfrankln Full Access Member

    Posts:
    580
    Likes Received:
    319
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    You will likely need to grind the probe pickup down slightly to fit. Its just a slightly larger diameter than the IDI 's timing port. The timing light will work with no modifications, but I prefer the probe, it seems more accurate and easier to use.

    I have the same unit.
     
    92 dizzel likes this.
  15. gandalf

    gandalf Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,625
    Likes Received:
    808
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    I have the DTI unit. I seem to recall that the add said it was for a Humvee, but that it would work on other trucks as well. Once I cleaned the port with a drill bit (twisted by hand only) the probe fit perfectly. You can also use a timing light, but the timing unit did not come with one.
     

Share This Page