IDI Guy Stumped

IHdieselfan

Reaction score
So I haven't posted here in a long time. Maybe 10 years. I have several IDI of my own and in the Family. I'm a Heavy Equipment/Diesel mechanic By Trade. I am having trouble with a project truck of mine. 94 IDIT. Pulled the motor out mainly to install type4 logger cam. wound up pulling the heads and had them redone(after the machinist is done he says that he found the valve springs 40 lbs to tight and replaced with normal ones. im thinking that was because of it was factory turbo motor, wish he hadn't done that) . new bearings in bottom end. engine had 280k on it but well kept and cyl bores were great. Upgrades: type4 cam, wicked wheel, banks down pipe. hypermax exhaust, IP Rebuilt + 10%(required New Housing), New injectors AND a new coat of DT466 Blue (just for a little extra oomff) . Now the Bad. I put it back in its home. It Fired Right up. But it sounds Wayyyyyy to advanced. I set the mark just like i have for the last 20 or so years ive been playing with IDI's. So i play with the timing, Better but not right. So i pulled the front cover off thinking ive got it a tooth off. nope dead on the money. so i take the pump back to the shop. They recalibrate. They say all good. put everything back together. still same sound, to advanded. so i check fuel supply and return. all good even by passed fuel tank selector valve. So i road test it. all good at first. but when i start to push it, good power till it gets high in the RPM's then it starts to stumble i mean stumble bad with white grey smoke and seems to die off. let off the pedal and it gets back to normal and runs fine as long as i go fairly easy on it. I guess my main question is can a IP calibrate on the stand but be to advanced on the motor?

Big Bart

Tow&Slow
Reaction score
Food for thought.

Does the new cam require you change the ip timing?
Do you have a timing device to confirm your timing is on or off?
Stumble because valves closing slower with softer springs?