Hydroboost Questions

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
I just bought the boosters for my changeover to the hydroboost system. I got a good deal on a 1999 booster and a great deal on a 2005 booster for 99 cents....;Sweet Anyway what are your thoughts about master cylinder bore size? I have a new 1 1/4 inch bore master cylinder and it fits the mounting end of the booster fine. No opening up the holes. I know some here feel if we installed a 1 1/4 or 1 5/16 inch master the brake peddle would be harder to press down and we would get less braking pressure to the original vacuum system. I don't feel thats true but anyway what will happen if I use my original 1 1/8 or a 1 1/16 bore master cylinder? Easier brake peddle effort and feel? My thoughts it would feel like air brakes. By that I mean when you apply air brakes all your doing is opening an air valve so more air reaches the system. It not like hydraulic brakes that require more foot effort on the brake peddle. I'm interested in your thoughts but be able to back up what you think. I just need more information for knowledge. Thanks....:D

Last edited:

Exekiel69

Reaction score
I can't comment for the others but I used the one I had in the truck and it works just fine.

typ4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I filed the holes out and used the original to the truck, I did the math on the hydraulics and the bigger one would not work well with a tow rig , to much pedal pressure to do the work. I also had to move the push rod point up a little to keep the hydro shaft in line throughout the travel.
my 2 c

Exekiel69

Reaction score
I filed the holes out and used the original to the truck, I did the math on the hydraulics and the bigger one would not work well with a tow rig , to much pedal pressure to do the work. I also had to move the push rod point up a little to keep the hydro shaft in line throughout the travel.
my 2 c