high idle/ cold advance

redneckaggie

rebel w/o a cause
Reaction score
lately my high idle and cold advance have not been working, I jumpered both of them manually with 12 vdc and they work fine. I have checked the continuity of the sensor in the front drivers side of head an it had no continuity to ground when engine was cold. I was under the impression that this was the on/off for these functions, I did test the voltage coming from the wire into the switch in the front drivers side of head, and it only read 5vdc to ground. where does this power come from? Any ideas on what could be going on?

chris142

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I may be wrong since I'm new to these trucks too but I think that the switch that powers up the fast idle and timing advance has 2 wires. I wonder if you unplugged the wires and put a jumper between them if the fast idle and advance would work, bypassing the switch. This would test the switch.

On my truck there is a single wire sensor near the front and that controls the dash temp guage and should have nothing to do with the fast idle or advance.

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Reaction score
Are you talking the one on the drivers side head right above the exhaust manifold?
I may be wrong since I'm new to these trucks too but I think that the switch that powers up the fast idle and timing advance has 2 wires. I wonder if you unplugged the wires and put a jumper between them if the fast idle and advance would work, bypassing the switch. This would test the switch.

On my truck there is a single wire sensor near the front and that controls the dash temp guage and should have nothing to do with the fast idle or advance.

redneckaggie

rebel w/o a cause
Reaction score