Fixing up a 94 F350 4x4 turbo 7.3L

Heide264

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Good morning,

I think it's about time to make a post/log regarding my project. It's now spring, so I can finally get some work done on this thing. I plan to use this mainly as a log and to get some help.

As a bit of background about myself, I'm an electrical engineer and have fairly limited mechanical skills. I have a 2011 Subaru STi that I've done a decent amount of work to and I did all the tuning myself for that thing (ECU included). As far as diesel goes, I've read a few books on diesel technology and performance, and have read through all the forum stickies around, but that's about it.

So, I picked up this thing locally late last fall. It doesn't fit in my garage at all, so I haven't worked on it all winter. It's in pretty rough shape. There is a good bit of epoxy in the engine bay to sum it up.

Some pictures:
You must be registered for see images attach

So it needs some work.

The immediate issues other than the inspection sticker:
-Windshield needs replaced (Calling a pro for this one I think)
-Power steering only works when the RPMs are high (Have a refurb'd gearbox and pump rebuild kit waiting)
-Brakes are terrifying (got a replacement vacuum pump, but I think I'm gonna convert the brakes to hydroboost)
-The stickers (they are gone minus the one on the tailgate... took a good 1/4 can of acetone)
-Had HID high beams only (ballasts removed - new factory assemblies en route with bulbs. Will wire relays in for 'em)
-She starts (with some ether)... but man does she smoke. I'll have to go over the fuel system a bit and adjust/time the pump.

As it sits, the serpentine belt is removed as well as the bumper, grill, and the front lights. Vacuum pump is removed.