E4OD swap in question

G. Mann

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Need to hear from the voices of experience on this please.

Just located an E4OD trans from a 97 F250 diesel 2wd for a good price. Before I buy it, what has to be added / done / to make it work in a 92 F 250, 7.3,2wd. that presently has an old and tired C6 trans?

I've never done this swap, perhaps someone here has. Both the 99 F350 and the 2000 F350 I owned had the E4OD trans and I liked how it worked.. so considering it... not locked into it..

Electronics that need to be changed and added? Help appreciated. Will reward with beer .. ;) ;Sweet

BTW, engine is coming out of the 92 for a head gasket, reseal, and fix it before it breaks, session.. ideal time to swap trans..
Thanks

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
I'm no expert on this swap but you are needing several sensors. some E4OD trans have the electronic speedometer that picks up its signal from the differential. Be sure what trans you have before purchase. the E4OD needs a tach signal. a speedometer signal be it from a cable or the speed sensor in the differential. I think there are 2 more senders but can't recall them.There is the cpu and harness plus the TPS on the side of the injection pump. Some that have done this C6 to E4OD swap used the Bauman controller.

gandalf

Reaction score
This is going into a '92? You're pulling a sick C-6? The '92 was not born with a C-6, so the question is what transmission was in it before the C-6? If it was originally an E4OD then you should have a much easier job than if it had manual. So, what was in it originally?

FORDF250HDXLT

The life of an Indian is like the wings of the air
Supporting Member
Reaction score
from a c6 trans it's going to be some work.driveshaft length differences? cross member differences?