Aluminum Heads For The IDI

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Can anyone tell the the usefullness of an all aluminum head made for our idi engines.. Whats the benifit of using that material. Better heat disapation or what.. I know they would be lighter and easier to handle but why is this such a used material in so many high hp engines. I understand all the extra seat machining needed but other than that whats the deal...

justinray

Contributor
Reaction score
I'm no expert, but I believe it has to do with the heat dissipation properties, it may also have to do with the machinability though. As for the first reason, I would throw that to the wind because the first time the precup got to 1200* you could give up on those heads, and you have to remember that the precup is hotter than the combustion cylinder is hotter than the exhaust gas, so I would stick with what we have unless you plan on a coating of some sort.

Devon Harley

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Mainly the mechaine work tht you can perform on the heads heat desperation an light wieght. However I would not use on an Idi head our heads are perfect we need to figure out how to work on the pre-cups as in coatings cryo treating or somthing! But that can't not be done do the the perfect fuel swearls that are on them. Mess with tht an your heads are toast. With a port polish clean up port match an good valves coated an bronze guides 4 angle alve grind they flow better than a 6.0 head stock before this work so the rest is profit. An there reusable the only place aluminum head go after being on an engine is straight to the trash can that's why there so light so you can carry more than one. I'm sure some guys here are all mocho but must wouldn't dare carring 2-3 of our heads to the trash ouch.

riotwarrior

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It's cost of production, machining and heat transfer for the most part.