6.9 to 7.3 swap again

illinoisboy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
hey guys it is me again. i posted earlier about the 6.9 to 7.3 swap. i know one guy said he did it to his truck. looking for a couple of more success stories. i am trying to put a 1984 6.9 with ats turbo, into my 94 7.3 turbo. the blocks are the same are they not? the motor mounts and trannies(zf5) will mount up the same yes? i know use the flywheel and balancer from the 6.9 and the glow plug relay from my 94. is that right? i tore the 7.3 down and it needs rebuilt. this 6.9 is a less expensive option and the mechanic shop is going to guarantee it for 30 days. i should know if it is good in 30 days shouldnt i? any help is much appreciated! thanks!:hail

Dieselguy123

Full Access Member
Reaction score
well I am no expert and take what I say with a grain of salt,:dunno . Does your truck still have the dual mass flywheel, I have seen a few threads on the swap of the zf to the 6.9 and the clutch-flywheel setup has been the big issue. From what I know the flywheel from the 7.3 will bolt up but If I remember right it has been said that the flywheel is balanced differantly and that it should be rebalanced to the 6.9 specs. I would think that everything else would work. I put a 7.3 in my old 85 where a 6.9 lived and it was very streight forward. Are you reusing your serp belt system? Not sure whether that will bolt on or not>someone here should know(I would think that it would). I would say go for it;Sweet

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score