1991 F250 7.3 IDI Questions

burrfree

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a noob here and am currently considering buying a 91 F250 with 7.3 IDI for towing a 26 foot boat. The boat weighs 6000# dry and is on a steel triple axle trailer. Would this work or should I try to find something newer with a powerstroke? The truck in question has 130K on the clock.

Jake_IN

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I think you will be fine, the last trailer I towed it did just fine with. Yeah its no speed demon but I cruised right a long with everybody else. Reverse is a pain (needs to be a lower gear i think).
You must be registered for see images

You must be registered for see images

That weight is truck+trailer.

Sycostang67

Scooty Puff Junior
Reaction score
You will be fine with the IDI as long as you aren't looking to drag race with the boat in tow. My flatbed weighs 3200lbs empty, then I like to put 8k trucks on it.

fuzzydog

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have a 1991 F250 7.3IDI 4x4 5 speed and regularly tow a tandem axle car hauler with my jeep cherokee on it. no problems.
Occasionally I tow the trailer/jeep and have a heavy old camper on the truck (scales at 15,800 lbs). no problems.
Mine has 3.55 gears and the hills really slow me down, but I can easily keep up with traffic on the flats (100-110kmh) and mileage is fairly decent.

I did some research before buying a tow rig and I wouldn't want to do this with an automatic equipped truck of that vintage.

I just finished a 2500km trip this past weekend (not towing) and my truck turned over 394,000 kms.

One other thing, I changed all the fluids to Royal Purple when I first got the truck - trans, tcase and diffs. I found in my jeep cherokee with the RP fluids that the temps came way down and that was good enough for me to use them in all my vehicles from now on.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score