What would you check

Team Dirt

Reaction score
You must be registered for see images attach
I just picked up this 85 6.9 that was supposedly rebuilt for a truck 15 years ago and then never got used. It’s been stored in the back corner of a garage and now the guy that had it’s moving and sold it to me for 350$. It’s got fresh oil in it and looks real good. I’m swapping out my engine in my 83. I have a bad head gasket and when I saw this it only made sense to buy. I want to make sure before I put it in the truck I check anything that could cause me issues from sitting all them years. I know my current fuel system is solid as I just had pump rebuilt and injectors tested so mainly engine related stuff I’m concerned about.

chillman88

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Well I'm no expert, but I'd pull the valve covers and glow plugs and make sure everything moves like it should while you turn it over. As long as it doesn't look rusty in there and spins over fine I wouldn't worry too much.

It doesn't take much to run one of these, if you're worried about it you can fire it up before you pull your engine so you know it runs good.

Kizer

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Nice score!

I'd also check the area around the block heater for fishers/cracks.
I learned that the hard way.

lotzagoodstuff

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
You could also think about upgrading the rocker arms to the 7.3 style. You could get lucky and find out that the guy who rebuilt it already did the upgrade (fingers crossed for you).

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score