peterbilts for me solid trucks
kenworths next
but freightshakers are not a very solid at all i think
anyway what do you guys think
oh im a diesel mechanic and ive just about worked on them all

Crumm

No Comment
Reaction score
I run the Haul Road from here in Fairbanks to Prudhoe Bay.

I am currently running a Peterbilt and I must say it is a rough ride. While they say class pays I hope in the long run it pays good because this thing is about to cripple me. Been running this 06' Pete for two years now and it is the roughest 258,000 miles I have ever put on a truck. They ride OK on the highway but on rough road they are not real good. This one is 290 wheelbase and has Air-Trac suspension. For the most part other than dash and windshield rattles it is holding up OK but I don't know how much more of a beating I can take.

Best ride on the Haul Road is provided by Freightliner but since they moved there production to Mexico they have really went downhill. Other than the best ride they are now junk. I owned a 95' and a 99' which were both good trucks but all the 06' ones we now have are junk. You can see daylight out the top of the doors when they are new :eek:

If I was buying a new truck today it would probably be a KW. They seem to hold up well and when equipped with the proper suspension they don't ride too bad. Just stay away from there 8 bag suspension.

tonkadoctor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Pete and KW are over rated... Look great, but skinney cab and stacks make it nearly impossible to back into a tight dock without opening the door and standing on the running boards.

Freightliner - cheap:puke:

I don't like riveted cabs.

I'll take a Volvo 660, 670, 770 or 780 over these any day. Great visibility, Aerodynamic, tons of room and a welded cab. Pete and KW can't hold a candle to their interiors, comfort and manuverability.