Shaking to pieces!

7.3shrk

Hey folks,

I'm kind of new here...been laying low, and reading and learning. Anyway, I am pretty new to diesels, just got my first in January, and I love it! I've been a Chevy guy, but I love this Ford diesel!

Buuutttt, I have a problem. My truck is a 92 F-250, with a ZF, and 197000 miles. A previous owner took out the TTB, and replaced it with a Dana 60 (no complaints about that) but an unknown year. It has a 6" lift, and running 35's. When they put on the lift, they rigged up a track bar set up. The PO cut a piece of 5/16 steel to bolt to the frame, and made a sort of track bar drop. I guess it could work. They also made their own track bar out of bar stock and rod ends, which is sloppy. They next added a bar to connect the DS spring plate to the bracket as well. Do not know if this works. Finally they stacked pinion shims between the axle and springs which looked ready to shoot out. Holy crap. Now The axle bearings were loose as well.

Now if you are still following along, thank you. To top it off, I put a set of used BFG 35's on this thing. And one of the steering dampers fell off.

So the thing drove well enough when I bought it. So of course, I had to screw it up. I removed the pinion shims, figuring they were dangerous, and at the same time, gain some extra caster. At the same time, I tightened the axle bearings, and put on the tires.

Now, the thing shakes like a SOB at speeds of 25 to 50 mph. It clears up most of the time with a little steering input, and then when I let go, it starts again. It is fine on the freeway. I next discovered the drop bracket thing was loose, so I tightened it up. It helped for a couple of days, but I am back to square 1.

Where should I start? the steering components are not great, but nothing sticks out as very bad. I am trying to make smart choices, and do not want to throw money at it if possible.

If you have kept reading to here, please help me!!!!!!!!!!

Thank You!