"Re-clocking" turbo

pelky350

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I read some of the past threads and it sounds like if i loosen the bolts on the back of the compressor housing I can clock my turbo just about wherever I want it to point to? It looks like there is 6 bolts and looks like it could only go in 6 positions? I'm sure this is a simple question but I've never had a turbo apart yet so I don't know. Doing this for intercooler installation

HS108

Diesel Newb
Reaction score
I'm no turbo pro by any means, but I'm pretty sure it's 6 bolts that attach 3 curved plates and secure the cold side housing. You should be able to clock the turbo in any direction that you need, 360 degrees.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pelky350

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hopefully that's the case! I've been putting off installing intercooler system because I wasn't sure how I was going to clock the turbo and connect the boots to it and the intake manifold, if it works 360 it shouldn't be anywhere near as hard as I thought now

shawn deere

So many wrenches, so little time...
Reaction score
I'm no turbo pro by any means, but I'm pretty sure it's 6 bolts that attach 3 curved plates and secure the cold side housing. You should be able to clock the turbo in any direction that you need, 360 degrees.

It is it is!
Them 6 bolts hold 3 clamps. The intake side has an o ring and you can rotate where ever you want!
Problem is that 6th bolt by intake snail.... try a chisle and hammer on the bolt shoulder to turn it instead of a wrench. I didnt mark mine when i had it off and had to re-clock when going back in. PITA. Had to line up bolts on pedestal and up pipe and intake snail at the same time.

pelky350

Full Access Member
Reaction score