Pyro hook up

argve

Resident Fruitcake
Reaction score
No need to be embarrased it's just that I have a degree in elektronics and I currently work in industrial maintenace because I like to pull wrenches so I work with thermocouples almost on a daily basis

now for recommending gauges. Get what you like. I always liked the ISSPRO's because they had in my opinion the best looking gauge out there reminded me a lot of newer OEM stuff pointers lighted up, numbers lit up but no halo effect, plus they used the 4-20ma system which meant that I could get an electrical gauge that had a 270° sweep of the needle just like a mechanical set up.

But I see where Autometer has come out with some pretty neat looking ones as well I really like the look of the Cobalt series I think it's called - it's the one that lights up a soft bluish glow at night - very cool in my opinion.

I really don't think you can go wrong with any of the big hitters these days - well other than the cheapie ones that hang on the shelf in Autozone and the like (sunpro or whatever that brand is).

Biggies these days are...

Autometer,
Westach
Isspro
VDO (I used to work in the factory that made these gauges) they have some neat styles out as well - good quality gauge for not much money but not a lot of diesel type gauges.

Now for the boost gauge - there is no need to get one that reads 60psi - heck you'll never get that high... I think you will find that you will have to take at least 15psi but that's fine because most IDI's pump out 12~13 max once you twist the wick on them...

rancherman84

P.E.R.F.E.C.T!
Reaction score
yep,i work in a ag shop everyday but dont fool much with pyrometers.
checked mine today to and found the thermocoupler good and the gauge good but the wires between them are bad.
i cut the bad spot out of the wire and installed two new ends,hooked everything up and nothing worked :confused: -cuss