Newbie to Bio-diesel, and I have some questions.

Andertusa

Full Access Member
Reaction score
As I said in the title, I'm a COMPLETE AND UTTER NEWBIE to the concept of making my own biodiesel, I've done some research, but half of it seems to try either selling you expensive machines to do it, or don't put it in terms that are relate-able. I don't live in an area where I can really just walk down to the store and buy methanol and all that( that I'm aware of), so it would need to be shipped, then there's the legal crap with that, and then the g-men would probably would have me on a watch list.

What do they mean when they refer to 'washing' your batch?

What kinds of WVO work better?

What is the gel point of WVO?

Generally, how is the process done in a simple and EASY way?

Andertusa

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have a little more than basic skills, so the idea of building something isn't really too daunting, but I have no idea what to build.

mohavewolfpup

Diesel Wolf Puppy
Reaction score
I'm still learning a lot myself. Others will chime in with more info.

As for "washing" i'll assume that means getting the water out. You filter/cook/refine the oil to remove stuff that will foul up your injection system.

I see you are in minnesota, assuming you have a lot of cold there? Where I am, short cuts can be taken with the WVO process to run it lightly filtered a good part of the year due to the extreme temps I see. Not unusual to have 95+ degree temps until november

Andertusa

Full Access Member
Reaction score
This last Winter, we had dyas below 20-blow zero routinely, the coldest I can remember was 40-below BEFORE wind chill.

Andertusa

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Spring: Anywhere from 20 - 80 during the day, and anywhere from 20 - 60 at night.

Summer: Anywhere from 60 - 105 in the day and anywhere from 50 - 90 at night.

Fall: Anywhere from 20 - 80 in the day and anywhere from 10 - 60 at night.