New to forum- a few questions

jdw7.3

Reaction score
New to the board. It looks like alot of useful info here. I just got a 90 F-250 with the 7.3 and the E40D tranny.

My fuel tanks are leaking a little bit of diesel fuel. I searched around the forum and saw that it is somewhat common for a small hole to wear in to these tanks. I am planning on pulling the tank so I can find the leak and fix it. Will it be easier to drop the tanks or lift the bed off and pull the tanks throught the top??

Also- I want to change the gear oil in the rear end since I'll be using this for towing. However, there isn't a fill hole on the pumpkin like I am used to. How do I fill it up after I drain the Differential/? What weight oil do I use??

I am new to diesels and had no idea about caitation when i bought this truck. I asked the owner after I bought it and he didn't use the SCA. I flushed the coolant and added the SCA. The engine has 115K on the clock. Should I be worried that the engine is already cavitated?? Am i going to have serious engine problems in the near futurre??

Thanks for your help! ;Sweet

budtoh3zo

Reaction score
The fill hole is by the drive shaft on the side, some say its easier to pull the bed witch i also agree its a pain to try and get the wires off and that, But they normally wear a hole were the straps are. As for cavation just keep the SCA's up and it should be good for another 100,000. I use 80w90 for my diff. Oh welcome glad u found us

jdw7.3

Reaction score
thanks for the quick reply! I'll keep you posted on the progress

Here is a pic of my new truck

http://img130.echo.cx/img130/8756/truck14sh.jpg

How do you know how much diff oil to use. I normally fill the diff unitl the fluid is up to the hole. is is the same with this differential??

Last edited:

jdw7.3

Reaction score
try it now- I just fixed it - you looked too fast! ;Sweet

DBogo

Reaction score