new kid on the block fuel question

Riley

Reaction score
Hello all,

New to this site. I just purchased an 1987 Ford F250 with the 6.9 engine. It has good power, but blows lots of black smoke when accelerating and climbing hills. The truck came from low elevation, I am at about 4,000 ft elevation, and will be using the truck quite a bit at 6,000 to 10,000 ft elevation.

My question is about the fuel adjusting screw. There are excellent instructions here about adjusting it for increased flow. I want to decrease the flow.

This afternoon I turned the screw down (counterclockwise) slightly, like from 12:00 back to 10:00. That did seem to help with the smoking, it smoked less and it was not as dark black.

Can I turn the flow down more, and is there any problems I will run into if I do decrease the fuel flow a bit more?

I am new to this type of diesel, so any information is much appreciated.

Russ

Idont do injectors
Reaction score
You can turn it down. Most turn the screw UP two flats when adding a turbo, but your losing air with the high elev. so I would try turning it down two flats. You will lose some power, but excessive black smoke is wasted fuel anyhow. OR add a turbo and enjoy.

Michael Fowler

Reaction score
Or you could use less "gas" pedal. Remember that diesels are not throttled; they are wide open to the atmosphere. You control the amount of fuel by the "gas" pedal.

Riley

Reaction score
Thanks for the quick replies. I will turn the adjusting down a bit more tomorrow. I have been letting up on the pedal, but was still rolling quite a bit of black smoke. To get to my place I have to pull 5 blocks up a very steep gravel road, and even barely moving, I was still putting out a lot of smoke. I noticed with the first adjustment I made today, it make a big difference in the exhaust when pulling up this hill.