Neighbor has an 84 300TD

Fordsandguns

Fords Rule
Reaction score
My dads neighbor recently got an 84 300 TD. The return line on the rear cylinder has been plugged off for some odd reason and all the return likes are leaking. He knows nothing about diesels so he asked me for help.
I have no experience with MB's. Is the plugged line supposed to run straight back to the tank as it seems or does it go to the ip?
What size are the lines and are they supposed to have clamps? None of them do if they are supposed to.
Thanks in advance for any help.

On Edit: It's actually an 83 if that makes any difference.

Last edited:

The Warden

MiB Impersonator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Like Justin said, that plug on the end of the line coming off the #5 cylinder is factory and is supposed to be that way. Basically, the hoses are connecting the injectors in a daisy-chain pattern, with the line off the forward part of the #1 injector going to the fitting on top of the cannister-type fuel filter (the fitting has a banjo bolt going through it, and also serves as the part the fuel filter threads on to). No clamps are needed; if you use the proper line, it will be a very snug fit. Using the proper line, I've never had a hose pop off, although I did have an incorrect hose come off once.

Easy job to replace ;Sweet This is the hose you need, although I think you'll want to order two of them...I THINK 22 inches will be enough to do the job, but I'm pretty sure 11 inches isn't enough...

1994Diesel

Constantly thinking
Reaction score