mass oil consumpsion

pauls painting

Full Access Member
Reaction score
:confused: this last week i have been using 1 gallon of oil per 400 miles ? also when going down highway at 70-75 mph i hear a loud screeching sound ,could this be due to bad turbo?it only does the noise at 70 or above is this because it is making boost ? thanks for any help. i need to figure this out asap as this is my work truck:hail

towcat

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
you've answered your own questions.
pull the air duct to the turbo and check the radial and axial play(side-side and front-back)

Exekiel69

Reaction score
You can remove the intake hat and see if there is any oil that will rule the turbo in/out.

Also, do You use a cdr or rdt?

pauls painting

Full Access Member
Reaction score
:confused: where is intake hat? dont have rdt this engine is all stock..260000.
i am new to diesel engines i just know what i have learned on this site . i praise u diesel gods :hail :hail should i buy new or send my turbo to be rebuilt?

Exekiel69

Reaction score
Intake hat is what covers the intake manifold if You remove it You'll see if the turbo is pucking oil inside the manifold or maybe it is the cdr (crankcase depression regulator).

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
What you probably have is the turbo oil seals going bad causing the oil to get into the intake. Like posted above, pull the hat and check the turbo for play and oil in the intake. If non of either is found try the CDR.

Freight_Train

Traitor to the brotherhood
Reaction score