Manual vs. Auto for performance?

Gord

Reaction score
Hi,

Which transmission gives better acceleration performance in the Cummins powered trucks?

I'm new to the performance area of diesel pickups, but it seems so far that most of the ones I've seen videos of drag racing all see to be auto's. I know the auto's are easier to drive for most people and have some advantages towing, but in most other types of vehicles, manuals are usually faster.

Does this still hold true for diesel trucks?

Thanks,

-Gord

rubberfish

Reaction score
Welcome to the site there fellow Canadian. :)
For dragging the auto will be considerably quicker.
You'll be able to launch with boost. How much
boost depends on your trans and your wallet.

argve

Resident Fruitcake
Reaction score
In trucks the auto is the quickest. Main reason I found is the shifter throw on is like 5 feet. I feel like I'm shoving my hand to the headlights then ripping it back to the tail lights... It just takes time to get you arm that far. When I'm blasting from the light and the mustang is in the other lane you can tell when I shift because he starts pulling away he will gain like 5 feet with every shift I have to make. Now if I had an auto it would be much less. When he shifts I only get a split second to gain something like a foot or less. They make a short throw shifter for the later model NV4500's but not mine. I have not checked into the differences between the older ones and the newer ones (1998 and newer).

sle2115

NRA LIFE MEMBER
Reaction score
Auto is generally faster unless you get into some of the racing transmissions. No one can shift a manual as fast as the automatic can, just as Argve described, not to mention that long throw.

Gord

Reaction score
Hey thanks for the warm welcome guys!

Yeah, I was kind of figuring that the auto's were the quicker ones. Unfortunate since I really love rowing the gears myself.