Just Asking

Guntherx

Full Access Member
Reaction score
OK hold your guns. :draw

How hard is it to put an '03 5.9 Cummins in, and how much would it cost? Will it put out some power?

EvergreenRanch

In Transition
Reaction score
apextrans said:
Oh man, from a turbo install to this? :popcorn
:rotflmao

ok.....first off....i have no idea what it would take specifically....but just from what i know about engine swaps in general (especially putting new tech into old tech)....youd have to completly rewire the truck, fabricate or purchase motor and tranny mounts, prolly have to cut driveshaft to match length of new tranny, prolly have to put a bodylift kit on it because of space issues/stuff clearing firewall. you doing all the work......a month of sundays.......someone else doing all the work........half a month of sundays and prolly about as much as u pay for the CUMmings.

im no expert, im not you, but i wouldnt take this project on less i had to. these trucks are great at what they do, last a hellva long time doing it, but they aint tire roasting drag strip trucks...... and any attempt to make them so is unworthwhile in my opinion. im going to try as much as the next guy to get as much out of the engine as i can, but you can only polish #$%& so shinny.

The Warden

MiB Impersonator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
*SWONK* for thinking about it :D

If you REALLY wanted a Cummins, I'd go the 12 valve route (specifically, a '94-'98 with the P7100 pump). With some BOMBing, you can get more power than a stock common-rail will put out, and this way, you don't have to deal with electronics.