Injector bore dirty - Injector won't seal

Koch13351

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So I pop tested my junkyard CAV BB codes and got a good set of 8. Everything was going *******: pressures balanced at 1850-1900, nice spray patterns, etc. I started my truck up and have compression leaks going past the injectors on two cylinders. One of them is audible. I've tried cleaning them but can not get a seal. I've looked for a ream but to no avail.

snicklas

6.0 and Loving It!!
Staff member
Reaction score
Not to ask a stupid question..... but....

Did you replace the copper washer on the bottom of the injector, where it seats in the head? Did you get the old washer out when you took the other injector out?

Don't want to seem to start simple.... but I have troubleshot more than one "It won't turn on" was the fact it wasn't plugged in........ (I was a computer system/network administrator for over a decade)

BDCarrillo

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
In a pinch, the old ones can be annealed (torch to red hot and plop in water) then lapped to get marks out (~300 and higher grit wet sandpaper on a sheet of glass, then lightly move object against sandpaper)

You can make a carbon reamer from an old gutted injector. Grind off the body threads and cut a few shallow grooves on the pintle cap.

Koch13351

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You can make a carbon reamer from an old gutted injector. Grind off the body threads and cut a few shallow grooves on the pintle cap.

Don't know how I didn't think of this. I'll give this a shot for sure!

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score