glowplugs with wmo

greg_a_morton

Full Access Member
Reaction score
just curious if any of you guys have had any issues with glow plugs running wmo? I put new plugs in truck at first of summer and it is starting to act like they are not working and having to use multiple cycles to start in the mornings(manual toggle controller). I took out one today and it had a slight crust built up on it and am wondering it thats causing to not transfer the heat to start?

Brad S.

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been using wmo on and off for a couple of years, haven't really seen the glow plugs wear out faster than normal.
But maybe my percentage of wmo has been high enough to cause trouble. I'm starting to use a higher percentage so maybe that will make a difference:dunno

Brad S.

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Maybe thats it,
just within the last couple months using about 50%, well see how that works with gp's

itsacrazyasian

residentcrazyasian
Reaction score
Maybe thats it,
just within the last couple months using about 50%, well see how that works with gp's

i run wmo/watf at about 85/15 with some rug/pump diesel/kero whatever i have to dilute it down and had issues with some build up. I have the timing bumped, i don't see the buildup on the plugs and my egt's are lower.

towcat

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
high percentages of wmo will lead to issues with deposits.
there's always trade-offs to doing any fuel cocktail.

greg_a_morton

Full Access Member
Reaction score
crazy I am going to have my trucks timing set before long as I finaly found a shop to do it for me. What is your timing set at? Should there be any difference in timing using the wmo?

wmoguy

Reaction score
high percentages of wmo will lead to issues with deposits.
there's always trade-offs to doing any fuel cocktail.

Indeed!