Fuel filter results

ibapaine

Reaction score
So I changed my fuel filter out today these were the results. Looks to me like there’s a lot of water there. Is this typical or should I?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    271.6 KB · Views: 27
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    319.9 KB · Views: 27

Greenie

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
That's a lot of water! 41 years of owning diesel pickups I've never seen that much from one filter draining.

ibapaine

Reaction score
Yea I’m new to the diesel industry but I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this. Bad fuel?

Nero

HD Diesel nut
Reaction score
Could be bad fuel from a fuel station, or water got in your tank somehow. If I see any water in a separator, usually it's an ounce or two.

Brian VT

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Can I use that fuel filter on my '87 6.9 n/a that doesn't seem to have a water separator anywhere?

Booyah45828

Full Access Member
Reaction score
That is a bunch of water. Only time I see that much is if a person has gotten a bad fill up causing the truck to run rough. Did you change it for a reason or was it just time? How many months/miles were on it? Do you still have the filter vacuum light and is it operational?

IMO, buy 2 filters, install one and put the other in the cab as a backup. Then add a bottle of clear diesel from power service to the tank.

Booyah45828

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know a lot of people hate them, but the 2 piece filters with the clear bowl are nice for this reason. You'd have seen the water plain as day when you opened the hood.

ibapaine

Reaction score
That is a bunch of water. Only time I see that much is if a person has gotten a bad fill up causing the truck to run rough. Did you change it for a reason or was it just time? How many months/miles were on it? Do you still have the filter vacuum light and is it operational?