deleting fuel head question

olBlue

Reaction score
HI guys I'm new on here (long time lurker)but have been searching high and low. Im kinda new to diesels so bear with me. Im in the process of rebuilding my 94 7.3 idi Turbo from a cylinder 5 ring loss and I'm upgrading stuff as I'm rebuilding. I want to do away with the fuel head/filter setup and run a dual filter setup on the frame and a facet lift pump to pull the fuel through. My question is the return system. I have found other threads and based off what I've found I've modified the fuel system diagram to what i think should work. Will this setup work correctly? thank you guys ahead for any help.
You must be registered for see images attach

Last edited:

FORDF250HDXLT

The life of an Indian is like the wings of the air
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to OBN.
Yeah,all you need to do is install your electric pump and filters in place of the originals.Anywhere in front of the ip is fine.However if I were you,I would install the electric pump and the filters up in the engine bay.Take advantage of the pumps design to pull fuel.
Also if you install it in line first,rather than after like you show it,the screen in the fuel pump bowl will catch any big stuff,saving that from getting into your filter,saving costs because the stainless screen is washable with some carb cleaner/brake cleaner.
The 7.3l filter is pretty decent though.Unlike the older 6.9l separate water separator/filter setup.This one,most of us find very acceptable.....not that you can't change it if you want.

olBlue

Reaction score
Awesome thanks! I was going to put it on the frame but haven't decided yet. Thats a good idea putting the pump before the filters too so ill definitely do that. Is my return system correct then? I know I've seen someone run something like it before. thanks again for the help.

Also wouldn't the pump still be "pulling" fuel if the filter setup were located on the frame and the pump in the engine bay?

icanfixall