AutoMeter pyrometer malfunction

Discussion in '6.9L IH & 7.3L IDI Diesels' started by saburai, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. saburai

    saburai Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Location:
    Bokeelia Florida/Catskill mountains NY
    Hi All,

    My AutoMeter Z series EGT gauge stopped working. It's stuck at 200°. It's 9 months old and was installed correctly. Any clues? I'd like to think that the life expectancy would be a good bit longer...
     
  2. Thewespaul

    Thewespaul Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    5,162
    Likes Received:
    3,053
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    Has it got power? Any other gauges having issues? You can actually test the thermocoupler separately, but sounds like a wiring issue
     
  3. saburai

    saburai Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Location:
    Bokeelia Florida/Catskill mountains NY
    Thanks Wes! Everything else is functioning as it should.
    You wouldn't happen to know which wire is hot? I'm thinking the red.
     
  4. Thewespaul

    Thewespaul Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    5,162
    Likes Received:
    3,053
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    You should have a yellow and red wire coming like this, these are coming from the thermocoupler
    BA5FC523-D87C-4FFF-92CD-0E22D044AD89.jpeg
    ignore those for the time being, you should just have a ground and a hot wire other than those, I think they are the bottom two wires on the plug. If i remember right it’s a blue wire for power in.
     
    saburai likes this.
  5. saburai

    saburai Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Location:
    Bokeelia Florida/Catskill mountains NY
    I traced it up to the gauge disconnected the plug from the back of the gauge and probed it with a multimeter. 12v and a good ground. Plugged it back in and it seems to be working, I'll road test it in the morning. Maybe the plug was loose or a bit dirty...
     
  6. Clb

    Clb Another old truck Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,331
    Likes Received:
    275
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Location:
    nannyfornia
    fwiw
    A dab of nolox (anti corrosion\transfers current) goes a LONG way here, mine did this once before I put some on.
    Sounds like ya found yer issue.
     
  7. tjsea

    tjsea Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    458
    Likes Received:
    226
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Lickdale, PA
    If it's wired correctly give them a call. They were really helpful whenever i needed help. Also how do you have it mounted? In a cup or in a pod?
     
    saburai likes this.
  8. austin92

    austin92 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    631
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil. IN
    Mine did this too. They want me to ship it to them. Kinda hard to do so I left it anticipating buying a new one and it just started working again


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. saburai

    saburai Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Location:
    Bokeelia Florida/Catskill mountains NY
    Dash pod next to boost.
     
  10. tjsea

    tjsea Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    458
    Likes Received:
    226
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Lickdale, PA
    It doesn't squeeze the gauge to hold it, does it? I found the cups I had squeezed the gauge too tight and caused it to malfunction. Turns out I had the washers under the head of the screw instead of between the center spacer and band. This made them too tight.
     
  11. saburai

    saburai Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Location:
    Bokeelia Florida/Catskill mountains NY
    No, it mounts with the bracket just like in the dash.
     
    tjsea likes this.
  12. tjsea

    tjsea Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    458
    Likes Received:
    226
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Lickdale, PA
    Ok, it was just a thought. Give them a call, they were very helpful with mine eventhough it was long out of warranty.
     
  13. saburai

    saburai Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    424
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Location:
    Bokeelia Florida/Catskill mountains NY
    Thanks friend! As I wrote in post #5, after disconnecting it and putting it together again, it seems to be working w/of issue...
     
    tjsea likes this.

Share This Page