Anybody ever put a rear axle temp gauge in?

apextrans

What Log Book????
Reaction score
I'm getting ready to install gauges in the OBS & have a 4 gauge pillar mount so I decided on boost, egt, tranny temp & rear axle temp since I tow quite a bit. I've found that to be a valuable gauge in the big trucks when pulling heavy.

Anyway, I don't want to spend 200.00 on a mag-hytec diff cover & was wondering if anyone had installed the sender in a stock sterling diff cover. If so, please school me.....

foxman

foxman
Reaction score
First of all, being an old trucker I understand exactly what you are saying. On my truck I had temp in each head ( 8V-92 ), trans and diff. I also plan a diff temp in my 450. I plan to go to Lowe's and get a reducing bushing 3/4 to 1/2 . Take the rearcover off, drill hole or cut hole with die grinder and weld in the bushing. Now you have a 1/2 inch threaded place to put your sensor. If you want to be sure the sender in rear doesn't get damaged you can get a 1 1/2 long piece of 2" ripe threaded on one end. Weld the 2" pipe on rear cover so the sender is inside the 2" pipe , then screw a cap on to cover your sender. A small hole in side lets the wire out where the wire is wire tied to the brake hose and over to left frame rail.
Really make a lot of questions about the "WART" on the rear end!
Foxman

apextrans

What Log Book????
Reaction score
I didn't think about welding the bung to the cover. thanks

I follow what your saying but do you have any pictures? Sounds like you've done this a time or two.

93turbo_animal

Reaction score
If your worried about heat get an aluminum cover from I think the 08 and up direct bolt on just need longer bolts and you can just drill and tap this cover as it will be thick enough

Oh I forgot to add its finned for getting rid of heat and you can get them for around $70 alot cheaper then mag-hytech

foxman

foxman
Reaction score