88 Ford f-250 7.3 idi - have to short starter relay to crank.

Joshua Hess

Reaction score
Hello all, so bought an idi here recently.
I'm new to diesels and this is my first truck :). Bought it to keep me out of trouble until I can get it running consistently. We'll see then [emoji16].

Anyway, the ****** runs great once I get it started. Tonight I was trying to fire it up when all of a sudden it just quit cranking. No click, no crank nothing. If I short the starter relay, it turns over fine so that probably means, new starter relay correct?

On another note, if I have the key on the running position without it running, I am getting a constant clicking at the IP pump. Is that normal?

Anyway total newb, but it's been fun so far. Been reading the forum here and learning all I can.

Sent from my TA-1021 using Tapatalk

chillman88

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
No click, no crank nothing. If I short the starter relay, it turns over fine so that probably means, new starter relay correct?

Normally I'd say yes but...

On another note, if I have the key on the running position without it running, I am getting a constant clicking at the IP pump. Is that

This might be the whole issue. I am assuming you're sure it's the IP and not just the glow plug controller cycling.

Key on engine off probe both of the single plugs to the IP with a voltmeter (the connectors in the wiring harness). You'll want to wiggle the harness while you're doing this. Engine COLD they both should have CONSTANT battery voltage. Engine hot only one should. I can never remember which one is the FSS so might as well test them both.