6.9 running poorly

dbryan

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am new to this fourm and to Ford diesels in general. I know toyota diesel diesels, but not Fords. Anyway I just bought a 1984 F250. More torque than I will ever need ,but I am having problems with it.

It starts up fine , then after about 2 min. runs quite rough. When driving neutral throttle, somtimes all power will cut out and the thing will stall. But it starts again runs fine then stalls randamly.Sounds like a fuel starvation problem. Any first place to start? The injector pump is new.

Thanks,

Dave

Exekiel69

Reaction score
Have anyone replaced the fuel filter on this engine? how do the return lines look like? cracked/wet? How much fuel on the tank when this happens?

bBtw, Welcome.

dbryan

Reaction score
Thanks for the responses.

I changed the fuel filter yesterday and changed some of the rubber hoses on the driver's side, thinking that is where the problem was comming from. It makes no difference which tank I am using and how much diesel in in them.

Is the mechanical pump on the passender side engine? Easy/cheap to replace? I think there might be an electric pump somewhere too. What is the most common failure?

Thanks again.

Dave

Exekiel69

Reaction score
If there is an electric pump then there should not be a mech pump or it is bypassed, this engines don't need that much fuel pressure. the electric pump is the best way to go in IMO. Better replace all the return lines and caps + o-rings, just the hoses won't do to get rid of a leak if there is any. You can get the return line kit for about $25.

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score