ZF 5 help/questions

payableondeath6

Impressively Ugly
Reaction score
This truck'll make my 3rd manual tranny that I've owned but so far all have been different so I don't really have any experience with them. 1962 Studebaker Lark 3 spd column shift, 1990 Eagle Talon 5 spd floor, and now the 1989 F350 ZF 5 spd floor with dual mass flywheel (DMF). I've never done ANY work on either of the two prior manuals I owned so I've got no experience with them at all.

Just FYI this truck has 120k on it and the previous owner said nothing had been done to the transmission.

First off I'm getting a couple different noises:

~The first noise I noticed is something that can best be described as a washing machine out of balance (that thud-a-thud rhythmic noise), this happens with the truck in neutral and the clutch (engaged, pedal released)...doesn't always happen but will usually happen if I let it idle that way for 30 seconds - minute and clears up with depressing the clutch. From what I've read this sounds like the beginning of failure of the dual mass flywheel (DMF) and can be corrected by a new DMF, making the DMF into a single mass flywheel (SMF) or switching to a SMF. Sound about right to anybody?

~The second noise is a rattling type noise that happens at idle with the clutch depressed (disengaged) and will clear up with a little of the accelerator pedal. This I've got no idea about and am assuming the DMF is to blame here as well, or maybe something is not letting the clutch fully disengage.

I've also got some symptoms:

~I've got two gears that I can't get into unless the clutch is fully depressed all the way to the floor, 1st and Reverse. I'm assuming this is something that would be taken care of with the components of a "clutch kit", but I don't know.

~Also seems like it takes a lot of pedal to switch gears while driving, I don't know if this is just because I'm comparing it to a car or whether I've got a worn clutch.