Truck advice - thinking about getting an IDI

0 Xero 0

Reaction score
Hey, everyone,

This thread is about an internal debate I've been having about whether or not I should sell my current truck and get something a little bigger. I currently have a 1998 dodge 2500 with a 12 valve and an NV4500. I love this truck and it has been as reliable as they come save a couple issues from the knuclehead who owned it before me... It's an extended cab and is fine for my family at the moment. It's just my fiancée and I and our two dogs; however, I worry about it being too small down the road as our family grows. I use it for occasional towing and hauling things around, but I want something dependable enough to be a daily driver like mine has been.

I would like a crew cab and I have some experience with IDIs. I've been on several forums and have read a lot about them. It seems like it's hard to find a clean crew cab though, especially IDIs. There seem to be more powerstrokes and gasser fords in better shape around here. I'm not too much of a brand loyalist, so I'm asking if any of you can give somewhat unbiased opinions as to what you would do in my shoes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

OLDBULL8

Good Morning Ya'll.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Without your location, kinda hard to give advice on where to find what your looking for. Some travel long distance to purchase one, even fly into a location.

I.d sell this one.

You must be registered for see images attach

catbird7

Full Access Member
Reaction score
As I slip on my bullet proof vest, I'll offer the following advice. Buy a crewcab F350 gasser in any vintage you prefer, then swap in your cummins stuff. There's lots of trees around here and yes, I'm hiding behind one!

towcat

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score