Troubleshooting my 7.3 IDI

Brent

Reaction score
Hello all and I'm new to Oil Burners. I bought a 10/91 F-250 with a 7.3 idi a few years back. This truck been sitting out in a field for 7 years before I bought it. Since I got laid-off I've been having some time to work on my truck.

The first thing I had trouble finding was a oil cooler for it as it had a corroded spot on the housing of the Oil filter. Took me a half a year to find this cause they don't make them anymore. When I replaced this I added mystery oil to the crankcase and got her running. She is running beautiful with no smoke from exhaust. Changed the Oil / Oil Filter / and fuel filter out. With the fuel filter I noticed that had some bad diesel in it. I removed the bed and changed out the sending unit cause the fuel gauge wasn't working either. When I removed the sending unit I found paraffin in the fuel tank which I cleaned out good and put in new foots in the tanks and fresh diesel. I cleaned the steal lines and replaced all rubber fuel lines. Lift pump changed out. Got her primed back up and started. Every time I have to start her now I need to push the accelerator pedal 1/4 way in. She idles like a kitten, but when I put a load on her while test driving her around the yard and stepping on the fuel she does fine, but when I let off the accelerator she will die while the truck is in drive. I have to get her primed back up to get her started again.

I don't see any air coming from the fuel return lines, but the line from the fuel filter housing to the return side of the injector will drop.

I haven't done yet is:

1. Replace injectors
2. Injection Pump
3. Glow Plugs
4. Glow Plug Controller

Engine has been replaced and only has 20k miles on it from 7 years ago

You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach

riphip

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
From IDIBRONCO in another post: