runaway engine

jtate

Full Access Member
Reaction score
well everything went ok on the startup, it ran fine and didnt have to zip lock it to death lol. boy you can realy tell the difference now when you start it up cold. now thats one of the hundred more things that i dont have to fix now. thanks everybody for the help it was greatly appreciated.

KennyC

Reaction score
I am new to this but I have worked on marine diesels for years from Perkins and Detroits to a 398 Cat. We were instructed to use CO2 or stuff the air cleaner with rags in case the overspeed trips failed . There was always a big CO2 extinguisher hanging close by somewhere in the enginerooms.
Kenny

PackRat

Buzzard Pilot
Reaction score
A buddy of mine used to work in a Detroit shop. It was shop policy to have a 'kill board' on each workbench. Evidently someone took the one off his bench and forgot where it belonged.
He told me when it went full rack, he reached for the board, only to find it gone. The next closest thing was a service manual. The motor ate the back cover, and about 40 pages, before it choked out.

Cheaper Jeeper

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Get a gallon size ziploc bag. Leave it empty and just flat. Take the air cleaner off. There should be a metal mesh over the intake manifold hole. If it starts to run drop that bag over the hole. I was shocked out of my gord to see how fast it brings that big IDI to a halt. I do not suggest ANYTHING in the bag as long as that metal screen is still in the intake. No chance for the bag to not suck down flat if it is empty. I did the same thing you had to do and so I was worried too. It is hard to screw up though.

Calvin