questions 1992 f-350 to 2001 f350??

410slayer

Reaction score
hello long time lurker very seldom poster.i am a sprint car driver i tow all over the midwest 28 ft. enclosed trailer 10 ft sidewalls.towing with the 1992 f-350 quad cab dually non turbo.i have done all the DIY upgrades.3 inch dual exhaust,huge air intake and air cleaner.enough of blah blah blah.the truck tows well at 65-70 mph.45 thru the hills.i have the opportunity to buy a 2001 f-350 powerstroke lariat quad cab dually 180k for 10k.i know the 2001 owner he is retired and all service work done at the ford dealer.immaculate truck i know it is a big upgrade in truck.i will be able to tow upwards of 80 all the time.what should i look at on the 01 before purchase?and how much shall i ask for the 1992?it is in fair condition 180k 2 tone paint classy chassis conversion.i was thinking of listing the 92 for 4k and accepting 3k or 3500?iam open for all advice and ridicule for dropping the idi.with the idi.towing into a head wind sometimes i hold the pedal to the floor for 1-2 hours straight.iam sick of leg cramps.thanks for all the tech.advice thru the years.my ears are open to all.thanks.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
I would try to keep the idi and use it as a backup when the psd dies on you...:sly But you seem to know what your doing and you will be driving it... I drove an 05 F350 dually 6.0 ltr 1800 miles to Canada and back hauling 6 horses. It ran fine but got terrible 8 mpg fuel mileage. Last year I hauled 8 horses to Tulsa in a Duramax 4500 truck. It got around 5 to 6 mpg and rode hard. The air seats saved my back.... So I do get around but I still drive an idi.... I have 8 forward gears too..... The gear vendors really helps....

410slayer

Reaction score
thanks yes the idi is in the 8 mpg range while towing hard.14 with no trailer.i love the old girl but need the $$ to purchase the new one.thanks again.

ameristar1

The One Blue Thing
Reaction score