Odd CDL question.

Splash

Reaction score
Hey I am kinda new to diesels but have always wanted to get my CDL. I have always loved big rigs, but I am not sure whether I would actually use the CDL. Do you think it is worth the time, money and effort to get a CDL if I don't use it right away or if at all? Thanks in advanced for any and all replies.

apextrans

What Log Book????
Reaction score
Well it depends. If you teach yourself, instead of paying for driving school, it's not alot of money at all to invest. I don't know where you're from but in MD, it's $90.00 for your learner's permit & I think $20.00 to test for the actual license.

Time is really up to you to decide. If you have the time to read the CDL book & commit it to memory then walk around the truck & trailer practicing the Pre-trip stuff, I'd say go for it. Other than that you will need some time to practice for the coarse test & get some driving time on the road.

There are alot of truck driving jobs out there plus it's an easy step to take towards starting your own business if you ever decide you want to go that route. Even if you got a CDL & never used it, it's still a nice fallback plan in case something else in your life went hay wire. I would say it's worth the effort. Just my opinion though.

Freightrain

Just "B" it........
Reaction score
Well, like apex mentioned...it doesnt hurt to have it. But unless you can get some seat time/practice you'll probably never pass the road test. Granted it just common sense, but you still have to know how to drive it.

I took my CDL test on my own, read the book for a few months, got pretty confident, then took written. I waited about a month and took driving test. Now, I'd pulled my 40ft race trailer around for 7 yrs, and had my B model Mack for about 9 months playing with it. I rented a truck(from the test station) and passed the test pretty easily. The rental truck was a little 4600 International with synchro'd 5 spd...real easy to drive with 40ft flat bed.