New tranny

Exekiel69

Reaction score
I have rebuild the getrag on My truck and I really like how easy it is to work on this tranny but I'm not so sure how well it will hold with Me pulling some heavy stuff in the long run so here I am looking for a possible replacement for it. I have little experience with medium duty trannys so I appreciate any experienced member that could share some light here.
I read about some 7spd then 9 and 10spd trannys, is there any of this that comes ready to fit behind a 5.9l cummins?

If not, what is the best option for a little city driving and heavy haul? I do not want a 5spd again if I'll get in the trouble of replacing the tranny.

snicklas

6.0 and Loving It!!
Staff member
Reaction score
EZ, Take a look at Tonkadoc's RV Hauler Thread, he just bought a manual transmission, of has one in mind to replace the Allison in his RV Hauler. He has some names and model numbers over there.... and it is a 5.9L in a F650

tonkadoctor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey EZ, got your message, will help where I can.

Here's a link that could help.
http://www.sanco-bg.com/NV5600_Conversion_parts_list.htm

Medium duty truck trannies don't have to be originally from behind a cummins as they have SAE transmission belhousings. You just need the correct bell housing adaptor from behind a 5.9 Cummins, flywheel and clutch to hook them up. Easy to find in any truck salvage yard.

Most medium duty stuff is SAE#2 with 1-3/4" input shaft and a 14" clutch. Some medium duty trannies like the allison 545 have an SAE#3 bell which is smaller.

SAE#1 with 2" input is normally what you find on semi trucks.

5 speed, 6 speed and some 7 speed transmissions don't need air to shift them unlike the 8 - 18 speed trannies that need air to operate the splitters making them a better choice for your application.