New Member/Owner

donn

Reaction score
I brought this home yesterday:

You must be registered for see images attach

1986 F250 Lariat XLT, 6.9L International, 4x2, longbed with 42K miles.

I'm taking her to my wrench this week for state inspections and to give her a full physical, including colonoscopy.

This is my first diesel truck, but I have lots of experience with oilburners in boats, including my current 1955 30' Eldridge-McInnis Sedan Cruiser with twin Nissan SD33's.

Any tips, tricks, books, warnings, suggested upgrades, etc.. would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Donn

hoodshauler

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the board. Nice looking truck 42K WOW. ;Sweet Must have been a garage kept only driven every now an then kinda truck. This board will help you all we can. Ask any question you have.

Depends on what you plan to do with this truck as to what kinda upgrades you want to do. :dunno Your truck should have the 6.9L in it so one thing I know of is the block heater causes cracks around it. I would suggest not using it.

You also live in a good area for physical help from people on this board.

Last edited:

donn

Reaction score
Where the devil is the block heater? The little engine manual says it's standard equipment, and to plug it in in really cold weather, but I can't find it to save my life.

Another question. How do I find out what the "unladen weight" is, for registration. The manufacturer's plate gives Gross vehicle Weight. Is that the same thing?

hoodshauler

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The block heater is behind the starter (passenger side)on the block in one of the freeze plug holes. At least thats where it is on the 7.3 . I would think it is in the same place.

Unlaiden weight is what the truck weights without a load or Tare weight. But for registration you may need to use that gross weight. Not sure how NY does theirs. :dunno

FordGuy100

Reaction score