new member in Vegas

MedicMoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm new to the diesel world and acquired an 85 F250 XL with a dually conversion. Since I'm not towing yet, i want to swap the rear end gearing. I want to pull one from the local bone yard. What should i look for? My truck now has a 4 speed manual with a super low granny gear. I'm running stock size tires.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. What gears do you now have and what gears do you want... Picking up a complete differancial from a wrecking yard can be heavy and tricky. Look over the gears by pulling off the cover and check the brake drums too. Normally when you remove the diff from a truck you replace the u bolts and never reuse them... But plenty of people reuse them.. Its a personal choice but to be sure replace them..

MedicMoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have the 4.10 gears now. And freeway speed is very loud on the truck with the 4 speed. Since i have the dually do i need to get the gears from a dually or any rear end from that era of truck?

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Saying its a dually conversion is telling us someone converted it to that. The differancial may have just been modified with some spacers to fit the dually wheels. Or it could have been swapped out too. The gears available for most any diff is 4.10, 3.73, 3.55, and the lowest is something like 3.08 gears. Finding the differancial with the gear you want might be difficult too. The tag on the cover bolt will tell you what gears the diff has in it. Take a wire brush to clean off the road dirt to read the numbers.

MedicMoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score