Injector lines

mikedean

Reaction score
Do the injector lines have to all be the same length? I need to repair or replace one that was cross threaded and the nut split.

87crewdually

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Simply, yes. If they didn't don't you think they would of made them all a straight shot instead of all those twists and bends?
If one is shorter the timing will most likely be off for that cylinder compared to the rest.

fx4wannabe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I doubt that they are all the same length. There are a couple that are pretty short compared to the rest. Don't see how length would affect timing.

mikedean

Reaction score
I was thinking that it does not matter but I am not an experienced mechanic. I have 1/4" ss tubing but I do not have the ability to flare the ends.

dyoung14

Is getting worn out
Reaction score
the shorter the line the quicker fuel gets there the longer the line the slow it gets there, want to see how much it chnges timing is yours a 7.3 or 6.9? if its a 7.3 put one 6.9 line on it and fire it up and listen you will hear one cylinder thats a little different than the rest, if its a 6.9 put a 7.3 line on and do the same that will show you how it changes timing, you wouldnt think the lines are any different between the 6.9 and 7.3 but they actually are cause the injector is sunk more into the head its not alot of difference but its enough to make a difference, now you can put 6.9 injector line on a 7.3 or vise versa as long as you change the hole set that way all the cylinders are timed the same

94f450sd

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score