I finally timed it

creighta

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have been asking shops around here for 2 years if anyone can time an IDI and they all say that they just do it by ear and haven't seen the Rotunda tool for 20 years.

I decided I didn't feel like letting someone else screw it up, so I advanced it about 1.5 deg. myself. . . I think. The truck starts faster and runs smoother now and the transmission shifts smoother. Also more low end power, but not much.

I have to ask now, is there any easy way to get to those three bolts that hold the IP? The top was easy, but I am not sure I evern did get the passenger side really tight.

hoodshauler

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The tool to loosen and tighten those is a curved like a half moon 9/16 wrench and has to be ground down pretty thin. Then it is still a PITA!!!!

Last edited:

forcefed

Full Access Member
Reaction score
take a boxed end 9/16 and grind it down real thin to get the lower bolts. Still takes some time but makes it a little easier.

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just use a reg box wrench I have just resolves its going to be a PITA job. As long as it doesn't knock too bad or chew glow plugs you did good and will pick up some fuel economy and a slight bit of power. If you had a turbo it would boost better too.

creighta

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yea I really want a turbo bad, but this is my farm truck and money has been tight. I read the powerstroke turbo thread a few times and think I might try it. The fab wotk in some of those pics is so easy that I will have no trouble with the set up, just have to figure out the oil lines.

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Yea I really want a turbo bad, but this is my farm truck and money has been tight. I read the powerstroke turbo thread a few times and think I might try it. The fab wotk in some of those pics is so easy that I will have no trouble with the set up, just have to figure out the oil lines.