Got a new rig 88 7.3L F-250

blackdog76

Reaction score
Just picked up an 88 Ford F-250 7.3L truck for cheap. It was advertized with having a rebuilt engine with around 20K, a new injection pump, and a few new glow plugs. The previous owner said that something was wrong with the glow plugs and it wouldn't start. I brought it home and put two new batteries in it and tried cranking it and nothing. Some of the glow plugs look new like he said and some look old. Didn't pull them to see what brand. The wait to start light does not come on at all. No clicking at all. Replaced the controller relay and same issue. The truck does run, I did an ether start and it fired right up, didn't smoke much at all, and runs good. I'm guessing that the rest of the glow plug controller is dead, it needs all of the glow plugs to work, or the wiring is damaged?

I'm new to these pre stroke diesels and will be on this forum quite a bit in the near future so thanks in advance

bbjordan

Snow Monkey
Reaction score
Congrats on new acquisition! Welcome to the best forum on the internet for IDI Ford trucks. There is a wealth of good information and experience here. Make sure to check out the technical articles and the Hall of Shame.

It is not uncommon for the glow plug controller to fail, but before you replace it, check/clean the ground connection. Also check the connection that goes between the engine and the fender. This is common problem point on these trucks. There are two heavier yellow wires at the end of the connector. Check/clean or bypass this connector. Or replace the two yellow wires with one heavier wire. This is a common mod on these trucks. Another common mod is a manual glow plug override system.

A word of caution too. While ether can be your friend, make sure you glow plugs are disconnected, or you risk catastrophic engine failure.

Happy reading! Oh, add your truck specifics to your signature file. It'll save a lot of questions later.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model