Glow plugs

WhistlinDiesel

Reaction score
So I’ve tested and replaced glow plugs and relay. They still don’t work and WTS light doesn’t come on. Is there a fuse for them? I tried searching for one but couldn’t find one. Thank yall

Big Bart

Tow&Slow
Reaction score
So I am not a pro on 6.9’s but know some about the 7.3 gp system.

For the 7.3 gp system to work you need a few things to be in working order. (BTW some 87‘ 6.9’s got the 7.3 controller.)

1) At least 5-6 working glow plugs.
2) Good glow plug wiring harnesses.
3) Power from the battery to the relay/solenoid which is the top half of the gp controller system. It is two yellow wires, they should have +12v. Hook to the spot below in yellow. Test for power, no power you need to find out why.
4) Ground. The ground wire below is generally put under the bolt that holds the gp controller on the engine. This sometimes is overlooked during replacement. If there is no ground the system will not work.
5) Power from the ignition switch when it’s in the on position. Shown in red below.
6) The WTS wire is hooked to the special matching connector below.
7) The white wire with the red tag is the ground wire that the controller (Bottom half of the unit.) uses to activate the solenoid/relay (Top half of the unit.)

So the bottom half is a solid state computer of sorts. It senses resistance and heat and turns on the gp system and turns it off.

The top half is basically a starter solenoid. Some call it a relay. When one little posts get a ground and the other little post gets +12v (Positive) it energizes the solenoid and that makes a connection between the two big posts. (Just like a starter solenoid.)

One side of the two big posts is where 2 larger yellow wires bring +12v to the gp relay from the battery. The other side has a metal shunt on it. The one side of the shunt hooks to the other big post on the solenoid and the far side of the shunt is were the glow plug wiring harnesses hooks up.