Glow plugs again. Motorcraft/beru/borg-warner AC Delco??

tbutt130

Reaction score
First, I am new to the diesel world with my 90 F250. I have been searching on this subject long enough to thoroughly confuse myself. The general consensus I have found is to use the motorcraft/beru zd9 glow plugs. However, one place I looked has them listed as beru/borg-warner glow plugs. Then, what about the ac-delco 32g ones? Some have mentioned that they are self-regulating and won't burn up. That sounds like a good option, but I don't have enough experience to know if that is the case.

Thoughts??

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If you can find them you want the ZD9 Motorcraft/Beru plugs. You might find a set on ebay if you're lucky. Second choice would probably be Borg Warners or Delphis. I think someone got theirs from Ryder products online or someplace? Stay away from autolites/champions. I've also heard the Bosch plugs tend to burn up though not usually swell and break like the autolite/champion stuff. Don't let the dealer or somebody charge you $25 each for these plugs, but they are probably worth 15 bucks each or so if you have to.

RLDSL

Diesel fuel abuser
Reaction score
The place that had plugs listed as beru/ borg warner turned out to be a bust, Those are borg warner plugs and they have nothing to to with beru and I don't recall them lasting very long.
Stick with the collective wisdom and keep looking till you find the beru plugs

tbutt130

Reaction score
Are motorcraft the same as beru? After a little poking around on the net, apparently borg-warner bought beru. So...are the borg-warner plugs the same as the beru?

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If I recall, one person had one or two of the BW plugs die right away and then however Tractorman 86 still has his.

Andylad13

DieselBoy
Reaction score