Exhaust help

cscmc1

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok... got under the new truck (89 F250 4x4 dually Lariat 7.3 NA) last night and discovered that the exhaust leak I thought was in the easy-to-replace pipes is actually in the Y-pipe, right at the Y. The rest of the exhaust is pretty ratty, save the muffler. I have a pair of FLowmaster 2-chambers that were spares for the Mustang sitting in the garage. Should I cut the Y-pipe down and fabricate my own "true dual" system? Buy a new Y-pipe and fight the rusty bolts to get the old one off? The truck is a beater, body-wise, so a DIY cobbled-up job is preferable to paying a shop to make a pretty exhaust for me.

Finally, does running the exhaust to the factory outlet location make a big difference in resonance to dumping them short of that location?

Any and all advice is appreciated!

Chris

Pipeliner_86

IDI up high
Reaction score
I have "true duals" on my 86 crew cab and they are 2.5" all the way back to the rear bumber, let me tell ya the truck cackle's like a 460 with glass packs. When the rpm'***** about 2100-2200 it really starts barking. I am going to redo my exhaust system, I would recommend larger diameter pipes if you dont want the " cackle" sound. It would probably breathe better with 3". :D

crzycowboy

Supporting vendor - www.grpipes.com
Reaction score
cscmc1 said:
Ok... got under the new truck (89 F250 4x4 dually Lariat 7.3 NA) last night and discovered that the exhaust leak I thought was in the easy-to-replace pipes is actually in the Y-pipe, right at the Y. The rest of the exhaust is pretty ratty, save the muffler. I have a pair of FLowmaster 2-chambers that were spares for the Mustang sitting in the garage. Should I cut the Y-pipe down and fabricate my own "true dual" system? Buy a new Y-pipe and fight the rusty bolts to get the old one off? The truck is a beater, body-wise, so a DIY cobbled-up job is preferable to paying a shop to make a pretty exhaust for me.