excessive white smoke at startup

Nickbf2504x4

ATV Racr-IDI Driver
Reaction score
now that im a colorado resident ive noticed that whenever i start my truck it smokes and idles very rough until it reaches operating temperature (5-10 mins of driving). i know that i have a small fuel leak but does this sound like a fuel or GP problem hope all is well with you guys and i will fill you in on the trip details soon. ;Sweet

yARIC008

Drives really slow
Reaction score
Well does the truck start up quick when it's cold or do you have to run the starter for a bit? Sounds more like a glow plug problem to me. But if your WTS light operates normally and you don't have to crank for long periods then it'd gonna be something else.

Nickbf2504x4

ATV Racr-IDI Driver
Reaction score
mel what about timing? i still haven't found a shop around fort collins to time my truck.

3-7 seconds of cranking required...but i am still leaking fuel from somewhere also

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Well thats why I asked about the cold advance. It would be nice to know it is working. A dynamic timing job could confirm it.

Nickbf2504x4

ATV Racr-IDI Driver
Reaction score
to test cold advance...ignition on and I remove the connector and see if I hear a click? CTA is the furthest from the driver correct? thanks :hail

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Maybe. Maybe not. I don't think listening to the sound of the solenoid closing is going to be much of a test. If the return line is obstructed, or the fuel port in the valve is plugged, or whatever, you won't realy be satisfied that it works. You pretty much need to tell by either a change in the sound of the engine, or by observing the timing change with a meter.

F350camper

BOOST!
Reaction score