Brake master cylinder: vacuum vs. hydroboost?

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
what are the differences inbetween the two?
is there actually a difference?

application: 87 F350 CCC SSB 4WD

sjwelds

Full Access Member
Reaction score
He's asking if there is any difference in the master cylinders themselves, not the booster method (vac or HB)

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
correct.
i have a bran new master cylinder from my vacuum brake booster, was wondering if it would work with the hydroboost system now installed.
not against getting another if need be.
just wondering if i can use the new one i have.

crash-harris

Breaker! Breaker!
Reaction score
IIRC there is no difference in bore or bolt spacing. Only one I've seen modified to fit was a factory 1/2 ton MC that a guy on FSB did his hydroboost swap with. He was keeping the factory 1/2 ton brakes and axles just swapped to hydroboost and didn't crack open any brake lines. The bolt spacing was the only difference. Someone with a trucks equipped from the factory with vacuum boost and another with factory hydroboost should verify though. I'm always skeptical about giving info when I haven't had first hand experience.

laserjock

Almost there...
Supporting Member
Reaction score
The bore on the Fsuper is larger I believe. It's like 1 5/16" the other one is 1 1/4 or something like that.

junk

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I also thought there was a minor spacing issue with the two bolts that fit the master to the booster. Like 5 minutes with a file will open the holes up enough for an F250/f350 master to fit the hydroboost unit.