block heaters and power inverters

Cowboy_Customs

Rhinestone Cowboy
Reaction score
I was wondering about this cause I dont have access to plug in my truck at work while im gone. How long would 2 batteries last with a block heater plugged into a power inverter in the truck? I dont think mine is a major heater(no typical sizzling) but, based on the average heater. Guess it kinda comes down to amerage/voltage draw? Im no electrician, I dont get along well with electricity! LOL

yARIC008

Drives really slow
Reaction score
Probably not long. My batteries have a 75 minute reserve capacity on them which means that each one by itself can discharge 25 amps for 75 minutes before being dead pretty much. I have two batteries so that's 150 minutes reserve capacity. I dunno what kind of batteries you have but I'd imagine it'd be something similar.

I believe our block heaters are like 1000Watts. I just looked up the amperage on one and it is about 10 amps. So in theory it should run like.. an two or three hours. It'll defintley be a strain on the batteries, but that's your answer.

Cowboy_Customs

Rhinestone Cowboy
Reaction score
hmmm damn. Thats the answer I was lookin for. Not quite the outcome, but the answer. I'll have to look into those solar powered deals that could keep up with the heater on a timer for day light hours! or maybe just get ALL the GP's workin, n fix my fueling issues n be done with it!!

F350camper

BOOST!
Reaction score
1000W on the AC side translates to 83 amps on the DC side. :eek: You wouldnt want to do it unless the truck was running. cookoo Which defeats the purpose.

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score