Another Gas to diesel swap

KennyC

Reaction score
I am new to this, but I have lot of diesel/mechanical experiance. Mostly Marine propulsion and electrical generator. Plus I was an auto mechanic for a few years. I found a 92 F250 with 7.3L I guess it's an IDI in the local U-Pull-it yard. The engine is $250 with a 30 day warantee. Mechanically the truck is complete. I have a 93 F150 with a 5.8L gasser and E4OD in it. The tranny on the doner is only $75 more. I want to pull the doner drive train including the driveshaft and the tanks, fuel lines, wiring harness., exhaust, etc. Should I pull the motor mounts? And what is the engine weight difference? Should I pull the front coil springs? This yard is cheap and I might be able to get it all for around $500-$600 and a couple of days hard work. This gasser is eating my lunch in MPG and I want to start my own biodiesel processing. But I need a diesel first. I have done the search here and I'll read it some more but these vehicles are so close in years I was hoping for some shortcuts. And avoiding a lot of trial and error.
Kenny

FordGuy100

Reaction score
If you do go through with this, you might need to beef up your frame, and definatly beef up the suspension. I think that an IDI with all fluids will weigh 1000+ pounds, were as that 5.8 would be like 600 maybe a little more. Plus the tranny will weigh more than the one you have. It will be a huge project. Actually, I would say that if the frame of the donar truck was good, and the only bad thing about it was a bad body or something, then you could just swap the body off of your truck onto it. Just a thought.

7.3shrk

Save the headache - if it has a good frame, do a body swap if needed. The axles and frame will still be 1/2 ton.

geonc

SPIDER BAIT
Reaction score
a duce and a half for the eng?????? if the chassis is available and the dash cluster intact, have a look at the mileage.