99 Leakin oil

fordnut

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a newbie so please forgive me if this is elementry. I have a leak comming from the top rear of the motor. I have read some of the archives posted and want to look at the plugs on the back of the heads but I nead advice on cleaning the motor first. Degreaser and pressure wash ?? Stay away from certain areas of the motor? Leave it running? Its a 99 250 4x4 ext cab LBed w/ 89,000. Thanks.

ISurvivedNMU

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thats not a elementary question at all.... Unlike other sites, you can ask anything you want here without getting run out, or told use the search engine.

There are many guys here who can answer this more in depth, but I would use degreaser only where needed, I would not put it over the whole motor if not needed. I would not use a pressure washer, you could get water into things that should not have water in them. A hose with hot water would be my choice. Also, I would do this on a nice day, with the motor cold, and give it a chance to dry a little before starting, then run it for a while to dry it out.

GSD

Reaction score
My 01 F350 just started leaking oil, so I took it in, and they found a loose bolt by the HPOP. What a pain to get at, so I took it in and had Ford fix it.

Only $400

Why is it that my truck always seem to run so much better after getting it out of the shop!?

Ford_Forgotton

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Use some 409 or simple green, but do not let it set long. Simple green will PIT aluminum. Then, use a garden hose and a garden sprayer on FAN mode. NO DIRECT STREAMS.

Cover your powersteering pump with a plastic baggy. The cap has an air breather hole that can allow water in.

Once your done cleaning the engine (remember, gentle spraying) start it up and cook off as much water as you can so it doesnt have a chance to get into any connectors and cause corrosion.